top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturea.

One stroke, two stroke- an article about me trying to art

One stroke, slightly imperfect, I add in a second one in an attempt to correct my mistake and then a third one for effect and then a fourth one cause drawing strokes is fun, but now there’s one too many strokes.

I crumple up this unused piece of paper and start over.

One stroke, two strokes, three strokes- perfect.

I loosen the grip on my pencil and and work on the face, repeatedly going in a circular motion until i have a proper circle. I use a darker pencil to define the shape, before deciding that the circle isn’t perfect enough.

I violently erase my artsy blunders, tearing the paper apart.

Starting over- one stroke, two strokes, three strokes- perfect! I loosen the grip on my pencil, one failed attempt at drawing a circle, two failed attempts, four failed attempts, six failed attempts and i finally have what i want.

Darker pencil, redefining the outline, making it thicker, even thicker, even thicker and dammit I’ve gone too far.

I start erasing, calmer than last time. Actually, only calm enough to not tear the paper apart again.

I pick up the pencil and get back at it. I make the circle thicker, and thicker and thi- nope its perfect now. I move on to the intricate designs. A long line, a short line, a shorter line, an even shorter line… actually i don’t really need that last line.

Frustrated, i take a short break. My short break lasts three days.

I sit down at my desk. A long line, a short line, a shorter line, a fourth line perpendicular to the previous three lines for no reason at all. All of a sudden im more insistent on studying than i have ever been. After a collective of thirty minutes of rigorous maths i decide ive fulfilled my quota of productiveness for this week.

I’m at my second week now and i set a reward for myself. As soon as i finish the drawing i can have cake.

.

.

.

but i can just have cake now?

After a long hour of eating, I stare at my drawing and a sudden rush of inspiration surges through me.

One line, two lines, one circle, two circle and another weird shape i haven’t ever seen before.

I add in the delicate intricacies and finish the drawing.

I look at my highly time consuming masterpiece from afar, gaping in awe

(not exactly very humble am i)

But it’s not perfect enough and i start all over.

One stroke, two strokes, three strokes, four strokes and now there’s one too many strokes

.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RAIN

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page